Boring American Blockbusters… There is an alternative but its not made in America!

Posted: November 5, 2009 in Talk Politics
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Slums of Rio De Jainero

I never thought I’d be the kind of person to WANT to watch a movie needing subtitles.  I probably never would have had it not been for the college classroom.  But this has gotten me hooked on foreign films.  I hadn’t realized how bored I was with blockbuster films until today while discussing with a friend how every time I watch a film in theaters I feel like I’ve seen it.. all… before.  The killing, the end of the world, the love story, the romantic comedy (ahh!), the surprisingly short films that need a lot more, the horrificly long films that have waaay too much (King Kong).

There are exceptions to this that actually beckon me to purchase them on DVD. aka Forgetting Sarah Marshall, The Matrix trilogy, back to the future etc.  Cool movies with interesting plots and re-watch value.  Maybe the men who stare at goats will be worthwhile… it looks funny and funny is something with DVD purchase potential.

The foreign films I have viewed have had these qualities.   I found the three films I watched so far (City of God, Che, and Maria Full of Grace) to be a refreshing change.  One thing they have going for them is their base on reality and turmoil of Latin America.  Che, while romanticizing the revolutionary of Cuba, combines many movie elements of humor, love, friendship, and struggle into a documentary of sorts that actually keeps you hooked and wanting more!  Don’t be turned off by the fact that they are presented as documentaries when in reality they are full feature films.

Next on my list of must sees should be Pan’s Labyrinth.  I heard it’s a must see and will be on my list of artisticly created movie productions rather than the run of the mill blockbusters of the American box office.  Creativity is being drowned in the repetetiveness from a lack of fresh ideas.  So… are Americans flocking to the box office because of a lack of choice or plain satisfaction with their movie selections?  I believe a majority of Americans along with me will stick to what we know.  In the meantime I’m going to venture into foreign films for a while but know I’ll probably be back to the regular grind of my beloved American movie theatre.

More on Latin America

Leave a comment